2024 Effie Awards South Africa Judges Announced

The Association for Communication and Advertising (ACA) and Effie South Africa are delighted to announce the Jury for the 2024 Effie Awards. This respected panel of experts is tasked with adjudicating the most effective campaigns by ensuring that all entries meet the highest standards of strategic and effective marketing communication. The winners of the 2024 programme will be revealed at a gala awards ceremony to be held in October in Johannesburg.

Further, Effie South Africa is pleased to introduce the new Jury Co-Chairs, Refilwe Maluleke, Executive Head of Marketing at Discovery Health, and Ahmed Tilly, Creative Advisor and Director at Number 10 – A Creative Consultancy. Their leadership and expertise will be instrumental in guiding the jury through the evaluation process.

Refilwe Maluleke expressed her enthusiasm: “It is an honour to chair the Effie Awards Jury for 2024. It is easy for many to think of our industry as a purely creative endeavour, but ultimately the role of marketing is to drive topline growth in the short, medium and long-term through our strategic and creative capabilities. The Effies are an important acknowledgment and celebration of work that delivers results and I look forward to leading our esteemed panel in recognising these campaigns.”

Ahmed Tilly added: “Effective communication rarely exists in the absence of creativity. Highly creative work has been proven to unleash an unreasonable share of growth. I am excited to see how this year’s entries have blended creativity with strategic intent to make big impact on brands.”

The jury members, entrusted with Awarding Ideas that Work®, have been carefully selected based on their knowledge and experience within the marketing, communications and advertising sectors. The 2024 panel consists of leading industry figures and trendsetters drawn from various disciplines on both the client and agency sides, including the C-Suite, senior management, strategy, digital, creative, research, and media.

Gillian Rightford, ACA Executive Director for Effie South Africa, remarked: “The quality of our jury members this year is exceptional. They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience, ensuring that the judging process is rigorous and fair. The gravitas of their role cannot be understated as they undertake the responsibility of identifying the most effective campaigns in our industry.”

2024 Effie Awards South Africa Jury

Refilwe Maluleke (Jury Co- Chair) Executive Head of Marketing Discovery Health
Ahmed Tilly (Jury Co- Chair) Creative Advisor Number 10 – A Creative Consultancy
Adam Jayes Head Of Insights Hoorah
Andreas Shifotoka Account and Brand Management / Social Media Consultant
Angelique Lynch Marketing Director AutoTrader
Antony Stearns Head of Strategy Saatchi & Saatchi
Arisha Saroop Managing Director, Durban Media Shop
Arné Rust Brand Director: Carling Black Label, Hansa & Lion Larger ABInBev
Arpan Sur SSA Senior Marketing Director Mondelez
Artwell Nwaila Head of Creative Google
Astrid Staegemann Media Director Dentsu
Atiyya Karodia Associate Strategy Director AKQA
Brandon Govender Digital & Integrated Executive Creative Director Joe Public
Carel Scheepers Head of Strategy – Africa Havas
Catherine McPherson Brand & Integrated Senior Strategy Director Independent
Charlie Stewart Chief Executive Officer RogerWilco
Charné Munien Strategy Director CSM Agency
Danny de Nobrega Co-Founder & Strategist Kilmer & Cruise
Dashni Vilakazi Managing Director Media Shop
Derek Coles President and Managing Director McCann
Dono White Strategic Planning Director VML South Africa
Erna George Insights & Analytics Lead PepsiCo
Ethel Ramos Managing Director Avatar
Fran Luckin Chief Creative Officer VML South Africa
Giulia Iorio-Ndlovu Senior Marketing Director PepsiCo
Illé Potgieter Managing Director, Cape Town M&C Saatchi Abel
Isla Prentis Managing Director Mi-Hub (Nahana)
Italia Mabula Chief Marketing Officer, Business & Commercial Banking Standard Bank
Jacques Shalom Chief Creative Officer Clockwork
James Cloete Chief Creative Officer Rapt Creative
Jason Harrison Co-Founder & Chief Operating Officer M&C Saatchi Abel
Jill Snijman Marketing Manager L’Oreal
Johanna McDowell Founder & Chief Creative Officer Independent Agency Selection
Kabelo Moshapalo Chief Creative Officer Ogilvy
Kalay Maistry Partner & Head of Corporate Reputation & Advisory Razor PR
Karabo Rameetse Brands, Communication & Advertising Lead Engen
Khuthala Holten Co-Managing Director Joe Public
Koo Govender Chief Creative Officer Publicis Groupe Africa
Kyle Carson Marketing Director: Snacks, Treats & Beverages Tiger Brands
Lara Chatzkelowitz Strategy Director TBWA
Liezel Swiegers Marketing Manager Naked Insurance
Luzuko Tena Advertising Associate Manager Accenture
Masego Motsogi Managing Director M&C Saatchi Abel
Michelle Kemp External Communications Manager MassMart
Mogorosi Mashilo Founder & Director TrendER
Moliehi Molekoa Managing Director Magna Carta
Mpange Chapeshamano Managing Partner One Union
Natasha Chetty Senior Marketing Director Africa: Emerging Category Coca-Cola
Ndu Donsa Brand & Sponsorship Director (Sub Saharan Africa) Visa
Pedro De Gouveia Head of Retail Strategy 99c
Pippa Misplon Managing Director Retroviral
Ponatshego Makhuza Shopper Marketing Lead Unilever
Raymond Langa Group Chief Executive Officer, South Africa Leagas Delaney
Robyn Campbell Managing Director Publicis
Ryan Sauer Chief Executive Officer Redwood Analytics
Sadiqah Levy Group Performance Director Dentsu
Sisinyane Sihlali Senior Strategist TBWA
Stuart Walsh Head of Boundless Strategy Boundless
Tebogo Koena Head of Strategy NetworkBBDO
Warren Moss Chief Executive Officer Demographica
Wendy Bergsteedt Head of Marketing Old Mutual
Zahra Mirza Managing Director HKLM
Zayd Abrahams Chief Marketing & Strategy Officer Tiger Brands

The first round of judging will take place in July, followed by Round Two in early August. Judging will culminate with the Grand Effie Judging in early September. Details on the members of the Grand Effie Jury will be announced later in August.

This year, we are thrilled to see entries from a broader range of agencies and clients, spanning small, medium, and large organizations. Entry numbers have grown significantly, reflecting the value and prestige associated with winning an Effie Award. “Our objective was to attract entries from a diverse array of agencies and clients. We have achieved this with submissions from big to small agencies, media houses, in-house teams, and numerous client entries. We extend our gratitude to all participants and acknowledge the efforts of the Effie Committee and ACA secretariat during the entry period,” said Rightford.

Tickets for the 2024 Effie Awards gala event, scheduled to take place on the 24th October, will go on sale soon. Stay tuned for more information on how to secure your place at this prestigious event.

The Effie Awards South Africa is hosted by the ACA and proudly sponsored by Nedbank, GIB Insurance, SAB, Investec, PepsiCo, Unilever.

The 2024 Effie Awards promises to be a remarkable celebration of strategic excellence and creativity in marketing. Effie South Africa looks forward to honouring the campaigns that have demonstrated outstanding effectiveness and contributed significantly to the continued advancement of our industry.

For more information visit the Effie South Africa website at www.effieawards.co.za or visit www.acasa.co.za.

Join the conversation – #EffieAwardsSA

Follow @EffieSouthAfrica on Facebook, Instagram, YouTube and @EffieAwardsSA on X to keep up to date on the latest developments.

Scroll to top